Permissions for users

You can set advanced permissions for a user if you select him in the Security tab of the Database Properties dialog and click Advanced.

Here you have two tabs: Permissions on the database and Permissions on passwords and groups.

Permissions on the database

Here you can select the user's general permissions for that database. This permissions will apply to all entries that don't have any individual settings (see Permissions on passwords and groups).

Here you can define how the user can use the database itself (read, add, modify, delete) as well as how he can use the functions inside the client when he opens the database (e.g. auto-complete, browser add-ons, print). You can also define if the user should be able to export a database or save a local copy of it.

NOTE: These options can be preset for all users in the Server Policies.

The option Grant access rights refers to Database administrators. If this option is checked, the user may manage this database as well (as long as he is a Database administrator).

Permissions on passwords and groups

Here you can configure the permissions for every single group and password individually. You can either allow or deny the following: read (accessing an entry), modify and delete.

By default, the individual permissions for all entries inside a database are undefined. If a permission for an entry is undefined, the permission for the superior group or those for the database will apply.

NOTE: Individual entry permissions will overwrite those for the entire database.


NOTE: If only "Modify" is denied and "Delete" not defined, the user can still delete the entry.


NOTE: Entries that can't be modified by a user, still can be moved inside the database (e.g. into another folder) or duplicated.


More on this in Rights administration in Password Depot Server.



Return to the Password Depot homepage (leave this help)